From Montréal to Cameroon, how we discovered our site in the heart of the forest (Part 1)

A Narrative by Romeo Ngaba.

Key Concepts

  • Team Reunion
  • Site Discovery
  • Trip
  • Local Realities
  • Montréal – Cameroon
  • Encampment

During my first visit in April 2016 which is reported in the Mbankomo article, we came to the conclusion that it would be crucial for all the participants involved with our smart village project to converge to the implementation site for the first phase. To achieve this plan the Montréal team did travel to Cameroon and on December 29, 2016, the squad was complete with First-time visitor Martin Decelles, Joseph Atangana, Romeo Ngaba and Franck Nlemba.

 

 

According to our itinerary, everybody had to converge to the implementation site located after Ntui, 180 km away from Yaoundé. It normally takes 2 hours to cover that distance, but we finally arrived at our destination about 5 hours later due to the state of the road. After a meeting with almost all permanent members of the team on the eve of the trip, a travel plan was available for everyone. This plan required each member to be up at 5 AM in order to leave Yaoundé latest by 6 AM to hopefully avoid the traffic jam at the exit point of the town.

Our Teams Gets Introduce To The “Karibu” Bush Car

The funny thing for us coming from Canada,  upon arrival,  was the name of the car made available for our out-of-town trips by a friendly family: It was a robust Land cruiser often used by military forces or Non-Governmental Organisation, (NGO), based in rural areas. This family had christened it “Karibu” due to its sturdiness.

At 5:55 AM, all the travelers leaving Yaoundé had already boarded the “Karibu” and we were going to pick up the last person on our way. The car had 9 available seats, and we were already 8 on-board :

  • Martin Decelles, our Canadian Consultant who would go through a thrilling lifetime experience on his way back from this trip.
  • Éric Nkamdem, our Administrative Officer, and Local Resource Person.
  • Joseph Atangana, our Field Operations Planning Officer who had not visited Cameroon for over a decade.
  • Ayissi, our local escort who was waiting for his new transfer location after working in Mbankomo.
  • Charly, our All-Terrain Driver with whom we would spend the rest of the adventure in the course of our trip.
  • Jean Marie, our Resource Person, and Guide who masters the village where we were heading to.
  • Franck Nlemba, our Project Coordinator
  • Romeo Ngaba, our Director of Operations

We left Yaoundé at 6 AM, the atmosphere and road circulation were quite appealing. No hitches experienced while driving as we were able to avoid traffic jams by hitting the road early.

We arrived at Obala at 6:15 AM and picked up the ninth passenger, Narcisse Nemi, our Farm Technician: the squad was now complete.

6:35 AM: We veered away from the car into a route covered with dust.

6:54 AM: We finally made it to the Nachtigal Ferry. 
The latter usually departs at 7:30 AM. Arriving there ahead of time made it possible for some of us to take a break, and for others to freshen up by washing their faces.

The Nachtigal Ferry

It is the ferry used to cross the Sanaga River at the place called Nachtigal, located on the road connecting Yaoundé to Ntui, a Subdivision of the Mbam and Kim Division.

Equipe au niveau du Bac de Natchigal au cameroun

We were forced to resort to this means of transport since it is the shortest way to get to Ntui which is three hour drive from our current location. Every car pays the right of way at 1000 Franc cfa, about $2,50 but pedestrians and passengers get on free of charge . 

7:45 AM: we crossed the River.  And the trip lasted 14 minutes.

 

http://techblog.netflix.com/2012/04/netflix-recommendations-beyond-5-stars.html

8:15 AM: we arrived in Ntui.  On our way, we had spotted 2 hotels, a pump station, a district hospital, and schools. We were already in what passes for the down-town of the area and the dust cloud kept rising.

We had to lower our window glasses while driving since the “Karibu” has no inbuilt air condition system. The skin color of every passenger in the car was virtually looking the same, brown. Thanks to our excursion a new race was born. We did pass about 6 villages that border the main road on which we were driving. Those villages were almost empty since their respective villagers had already gone to farm. We also went pass herds of cows guided by shepherds coming all the way from Nord Cameroon.

Image du chemin de brousse

10:35 AM: Here we are. It is a small locality of about 300 persons. The village length spans from one end of the road to the other. And like in other rural areas, the main activities are farming, hunting, and picking. In the community of this village, there were some strangers – non-natives -, who came purposely to work in various firms and plantations found in the area.

Though all that area is hardly accessible because of the state of the road, it remains a highly exotic destination for its virgin forest and very fertile soil. 
As required by local customs, we first reported to the palace of the village to meet the chief and signify of our presence. After spending some few minutes with the chief and his notables, we hopped in the “Karibu” en route to the encampment our team had to occupy and which is located on a 20 minutes’ walk to our experimental site.

Pitching up Encampment Tents

Our greatest fear was not to know where to set up a camp for our team once the project had begun in this area. We were lucky to find a pretty large encampment near our project site following some negotiations with the owner, whom we called Tata Yvette.   We came to the agreement that our team was going to stay there during the first year of experience.
Thirty minutes later, we set foot on the camp, after trampling on a rocky path strewn with Savannah grass. At last, we could now rest for some minutes before going to discover what our project site looks like.

The clock read 11:45 AM, in principle we had planned to finish work at 2 PM if we wanted to make it in time to cross the Sanaga River aboard the Nachtigal Ferry closing at 6 PM latest.

 

 Watch out for updates…

Story written by Roméo Ngaba

De Montréal au Cameroun comment nous avons découvert notre site en pleine forêt (Partie I)

Ceci est un récit proposé par Roméo Ngaba.

Termes clefs

  • Retrouvailles d’équipe
  • Découverte réel du site
  • Voyage
  • Réalité du terrain
  • Montréal – Cameroun
  • Campement

 

Suite à ma première  descente sur le terrain en avril 2016 (article sur Mbankomo), nous avions décidé  qu’il était important que toutes les personnes impliquées dans notre projet de village intelligent se retrouvent sur notre site d’implémentation de la phase 1. Pour ce faire l’équipe de Montréal avait fait le déplacement pour le Cameroun et le 29 décembre 2017, nous avions donc toute la gang sur place: Martin Decelles (qui y allait pour la première fois), Joseph Atangana, Romeo Ngaba et Franck Nlemba.

Roméo et Martin près à embarquer pour le Cameroun en Décembre 2016

Notre programme stipulait que nous allions tous nous rendre sur le site d’implémentation situé à Nguervoum , à 180 km de Yaoundé. Le trajet devrait donc durer  normalement  2h , mais pour s’y rendre nous avons du faire environ  5h à cause de l’état de la route. Après une réunion de presque  toute l’équipe permanente la veille de notre départ, j’ai remis un programme du voyage qui exigeait que tout le monde soit debout pour 5h du matin afin que nous puissions quitter Yaoundé au plus tard à 6h, évitant ainsi les embouteillages de la sortie de la ville.


Le Karibou, la voiture de la brousse


Nous venions du Canada et la chose la plus drôle que nous avons trouvée dès notre arrivée était le nom de la voiture qui était mise à notre disposition pour nos déplacements à l’extérieur de la ville par une famille amie : c’était un Land cruiser robuste et souvent utilisé par l’armée ou les ONG exerçant en milieu rural ; ils l’avaient baptisé « le Karibou » au vu de sa robustesse.

À 5h55 le « Karibou » était plein de tous les voyageurs partant de Yaoundé car nous allions récupérer le dernier en cours de chemin. Capable de prendre 9 places, nous étions déjà 8:

. Martin Decelles  (notre consultant Canadien qui allait vivre une des aventures les plus excitante de sa vie lors du retour de ce voyage )
. Éric Nkamdem (Notre responsable administratif et personne ressource locale)
. Joseph Atangana (chargé de la planification qui n’était pas revenu au Cameroun depuis plus d’une dizaine d’années)
. Ayissi (notre contremaître qui allait découvrir son nouveau lieu d’affectation après Mbankomo)
. Charly  (notre chauffeur tout terrain avec qui nous allons vivre toutes les aventures durant tout ce séjour)
. Jean Marie (personne ressource connaissant bien le village où nous nous rendions et qui devait nous servir de guide)
. Franck Nlemba (Coordonnateur du projet)
. Romeo Ngaba  (Directeur des opérations)

Départ de Yaoundé à  6h, ambiance bonne enfant dans la voiture, le fait d’être parti tôt nous permet de rouler assez bien car pas d’embouteillage.

Nous arrivons à Obala à  6h15 et nous récupérons notre 9eme passager Narcisse Nemi qui est notre technicien agricole: nous sommes complet.

6h35: Nous avons quitté le goudron pour une route de poussière.

6h54: Nous  arrivons au niveau du Bac de Nachtigal.
Il commence à fonctionner à partir de 7h30. Notre avance nous permet de faire un stop et de se rafraîchir le visage pour certains.

Le bac Nachtigal

C’est le bac qui assure  la traversée sur le fleuve Sanaga au lieu-dit Nachtigal, sur la route qui relie Yaoundé à Ntui, chef-lieu du département du Mbam et Kim.

Equipe au niveau du Bac de Natchigal au cameroun
Equipe au niveau du Bac de Natchigal au Cameroun Juste avant la traversée

Nous sommes obligé de l’emprunter car c’est le chemin le plus court pour se rendre à Ntui qui est à 3h de route de notre destination. Chaque véhicule paie un droit de passage à 1000 Frcfa (2,50$) et les piétons et passagers embarquent gratuitement.

7h45 nous avons traversé le bac.  Le trajet dure 14 mn.

http://techblog.netflix.com/2012/04/netflix-recommendations-beyond-5-stars.html
8h15: nous arrivons à Ntui,  chemin faisant, on y remarque 2 hôtels, une station service, un hôpital de district et des écoles. Nous sommes dans le centre ville du coin et le niveau de poussière augmente de plus en plus.

Nous sommes obligés de rouler vitres baissées car le karibou n’a pas d’air climatisé, il n’y a plus de différence de couleur entre les occupants, nous sommes tous marron. Grâce à notre excursion une nouvelle race est née. Nous traversons environ 6 villages qui jonchent la route principale que nous suivons, ils sont presque déserts car leurs habitants sont déjà allés dans leurs travaux champêtres. Nous croisons aussi des troupeaux de boeufs dirigés par des bergers venus du Nord Cameroun.

Image du chemin de brousse
Image du chemin de brousse



10h35: Nous Arrivons à  Nguervoum. C’est une petite localité d’environ 300 personnes, le village est construit des deux côtés de la route et comme pour les autres, les  principales activités sont l’agriculture, la chasse et la cueillette. Dans sa population nous retrouvons quelques étrangers (non autochtones), qui se trouvent là principalement en tant qu’ employés des différentes fermes et plantations qu’on retrouve dans le coin.

En effet toute cette zone bien que difficilement accessible à cause de l’état de la route est très prisée car on y retrouve encore une forêt vierge et une terre très fertile.
Comme pour toute nouvelle arrivée dans le village, nous nous sommes dirigés vers la chefferie pour y rencontrer le chef et lui signaler notre présence. Après avoir passé quelques minutes avec ses notables et lui, nous avons décidé de reprendre le Karibou pour rejoindre le campement que notre équipe allait occuper et qui était situé à 20 mn à pied de notre site expérimental.

Le campement


Notre plus grande peur était de ne pas savoir où installer nos équipes lorsque nous allions débuter notre projet dans cette zone. Nous avons eu la chance de trouver un campement assez grand près de notre site, après un arrangement avec la propriétaire  (que nous appelons Tata Yvette), il a été convenu que nous allons y loger notre équipe pour notre  première année d’installation.
Trente minutes (30 mn) plus tard nous arrivons au Campement, le chemin était assez rocheux et parsemé d’herbe de savane. Enfin nous allons pouvoir nous poser quelques minutes avant d’aller découvrir à quoi ressemble le site.

Il est 11h45, nous devons avoir terminé le tout pour 14h si nous voulons arriver à temps pour traverser le bac de Nachtigal qui ferme à 18h au plus tard.
 À suivre…

Article proposé par Roméo Ngaba